The Voyeur's Motel by Gay Talese

The Voyeur's Motel

By Gay Talese

  • Release Date: 2016-07-14
  • Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

On January 7, 1980, in the run-up to the publication of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Gay Talese received an anonymous letter from a man in Colorado. 'Since learning of your long awaited study of coast-to-coast sex in America,' the letter began, 'I feel I have important information that I could contribute to its contents or to contents of a future book.' The man went on to tell Talese a remarkable, shocking secret, so compelling that Talese travelled to Colorado to verify it in person. But because the letter-writer insisted on remaining anonymous, Talese filed his reporting away, certain the story would remain untold.

Over the next thirty-five years, the man occasionally reached out to Talese to fill him in on the latest developments in his life, but he continued to insist on anonymity. Finally, after thirty-five years, he's ready to go public.

In the tradition of Thy Neighbor's Wife, Talese's landmark, best-selling exploration of the sexual revolution in America, this will be a provocative, eye-opening and much-talked-about book.

Reviews

  • Watched this on Netflix

    5
    By BEARBEATS
    Love this
  • Stranger Than Fiction

    4
    By Old Geeza
    Read this following a review. Amazing story told as it was. Slightly creepy to read as the story unfolds. However a compelling read which I could not put down and made more interesting by its non fictional events. You get to watch a watcher, interesting.
  • The Voyeur's Motel

    4
    By Mushroomvr6
    An interesting insight into the life of a professional voyeur. Although the actual voyeuristic episodes are short and described often as a third person, there is enough to keep the reader encapsulated in the story. Although feeling that the voyeur was wrong in his invasion of privacy, at other times i found myself engrossed in the cases as they unfolded. Worth a read.

keyboard_arrow_up